Implementation, integration and application of business process supporting systems

Our systems, tailored to technical needs of infrastructure, offer support for the decision-making and task-management of infrastructure asset managers.

The management of built infrastructure facilities is a complex task and the required decisions have significant implications. So that tasks can be managed efficiently and founded decisions can be made, the flow of information must be technically prepared and optimized. On the Swiss national road network, 2‘500 engineering structures and tunnels are inspected annually. Consequently, the required interventions are determined and planned. In 2012, about 250 million Swiss Francs were used for maintenance of engineering structures and tunnels on the Swiss national road network. The organization for planning these inspections, maintenance and interventions consists of about 10 people.

The resulting maintenance interventions are finally coordinated between the different sub-systems: pavement on one hand and operational and safety facilities on the other hand. The coordination is even more complex in urban environments, where more than ten sub-systems interact with each other. Overcoming these comprehensive and complex challenges without the support of IT systems would be unthinkable.

Most IT systems support operational processes and improve their efficiency. More complex IT systems can also support decision-making, bearing in mind technical processes. To optimally support decision-making – similar to the support for business processes – the technical processes must be structured as close to reality as possible. To make a decision regarding maintenance planning an infrastructure object‘s physical deterioration development as well as the effectiveness of different intervention combinations on said object must be defined. The impact on the object, the user, the network must be quantified and modelled according to state-of-the-art know-how. The different combinations of interventions are combined in management strategies, which are then compared to find the Optimal Management Strategy for the object.

 

A decisive factor concerns the implementation and application of the IT system. If the infrastructure owner sees benefit in using the system, it becomes apparent that the system will establish itself within your organization.

 

IMC has successfully applied its know-how and experience in numerous projects for different organizations. We develop IT systems and implement them. We strive to continuously build on our experiences so that we are ready to provide technical support on the evaluation, development and improvement of business models and processes, whether it be an instance or a more comprehensive project. Our specialized know-how enables us to fully understand problems and contribute to a technically apt solution. Dependent on your needs, we tailor the IT systems to efficiency and decision-making support.

General questions

Does the system relieve organizations of the most time-consuming (and often monotonous) tasks?
One of the most common areas of use for IT system is the automation of time-consuming and monotonous tasks. First, the system as a whole must be considered, the time-intensive, monotonous tasks must be identified and then supported using IT. The tasks are automated, but an analysis or interpretation is not performed. The development and implementation of a technically and organizationally suitable solution is our main priority.

Does your system apply technical models for its decision-making tools?

Based on solid know-how and comprehensive experience with different infrastructure managers and different infrastructure sub-systems – such as engineering structures, pavement, tunnels, rail rolling stock and utility lines – IMC knows the technical contexts and how they interrelate. Particularly important for the development of a system for the decision-making support is the realistic simulation of the technical contexts. Keeping in mind the holistic overview as well as focusing on the pertinent issues, we see the choice of a suitable mathematical model as a decisive factor.

The mathematical models are used in our systems for the determination of the required financial resources and maintenance plans. These models provide the optimal solution for a given problem, considering the pertinent technical contexts. Any deviation from the optimal solution leads to an increase in required financial resources. Thus, the system proves to be a valuable tool in the search for an answer to technical questions. The decision-makers can consequently focus on their core tasks regarding strategic questions.

Implementierung, Einführung und Anwendung von geschäftsprozessunterstützenden Systemen

Fachtreue Systeme bieten tatkräftige Unterstützung bei der Entscheidungsfindung und Aufgabenbewältigung

Die Verwaltung gebauter Infrastrukturanlagen ist eine komplexe Aufgabe und die zu treffenden Entscheide haben bedeutende Folgen. Um die Aufgaben effizient zu bewältigen und um fundierte Entscheide zu treffen, ist die Informationsflut fachgerecht zu verwalten und bereitzustellen. Auf den schweizerischen Nationalstrassen werden jährlich z.B. ca. 2‘500 Kunstbauten und Tunnel inspiziert und die nötigen Erhaltungsmassnahmen für diese bestimmt. Für deren Unterhalt wurden im Jahr 2012 ca. 250 Mio. CHF aufgewendet. Die Organisation der Überwachung, des Unterhalts sowie der Erhaltungs- und Massnahmenplanung wird dabei von ca. 10 Personen wahrgenommen. Die daraus bestimmten Erhaltungsmassnahmen müssen schliesslich noch mit den Teilsystemen Fahrbahn sowie Betriebs- und Sicherheitsanlagen koordiniert werden. Noch komplexer gestaltet sich die Situation im städtischen Umfeld, wo mehr als zehn Teilsysteme interagieren. Die Bewältigung solch umfassender und komplexer Aufgaben wäre ohne die Unterstützung von EDV-Systemen undenkbar.

Die meisten EDV-Systeme unterstützen die betrieblichen Abläufe um die Effizienz zu steigern. Komplexere EDV-Systeme können auch die Entscheidungsfindung tatkräftig unterstützen. Um die Entscheidungsfindung tatkräftig zu unterstützen, müssen – ähnlich wie bei der Unterstützung der betrieblichen Abläufe – die fachlichen Gegebenheiten realitätsnah abgebildet werden. Zum Treffen von Entscheiden hinsichtlich der Erhaltungsplanung müssen z.B. die Verfallsentwicklung sowie die Wirkung unterschiedlicher Massnahmenkombinationen auf das Bauwerk, die Benutzer und das gesamte Netzwerk und die sich daraus ergebenden Kosten, fachtreu modelliert werden; die unterschiedlichen Massnahmenkombinationen müssen schliesslich miteinander verglichen und eine optimale Lösung ermittelt werden.

Ein entscheidender Punkt stellt schliesslich die Einführung und Anwendung des Systems dar. Generiert dieses bei den Nutzern einen entscheidenden und erkennbaren Nutzen, so werden sie das System benutzen und es wird sich etablieren.

Die IMC hat das nötige Wissen und die nötige Erfahrung bereits in mehreren Projekten erfolgreich angewendet, baut ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrung stetig aus, entwickelt selber EDV-Systeme und führt sie ein. Wir können Sie punktuell oder umfassend im Bereich der Implementierung, Einführung und Anwendung von Geschäftsprozessunterstützenden Systemen unterstützen. Dank unserem Fachwissen verstehen wir die Probleme und tragen zu einer fachtreuen Lösung bei. Je nach Ihrem Bedarf verbessern wir die EDV-Systeme hinsichtlich Effizienz und/oder Unterstützung der Entscheidungsfindung.

Generische Fragen

Nimmt Ihnen Ihr System die zeitintensiven (und oftmals monotonen) Aufgaben ab?
Eines der häufigsten und beliebtesten Anwendungsgebiete von EDV-Systemen liegt in der Automatisierung zeitintensiver und monotoner Aufgaben. Hierzu muss das Gesamtsystem verstanden, monoton-zeitintensive Aufgaben identifiziert und EDV-mässig unterstützt werden. Dabei werden lediglich die Aufgaben automatisiert ohne dass eine Beurteilung/Interpretation stattfindet. Die Entwicklung und Einführung von fachlich und organisatorisch zweckmässigen Lösungen steht bei uns im Vordergrund.

Unterstützt Sie Ihr System tatkräftig in der Entscheidungsfindung dank einer fachtreuen Modellierung?

Dank solidem Wissen und umfassenden Erfahrungen bei unterschiedlichen Infrastrukturbetreibern aus unterschiedlichen Teilsystemen wie Kunstbauten, Fahrbahn, Tunnel, Gleisanlagen und Werkleitungen – kennt die IMC die fachlichen Zusammenhänge und weiss wie diese abzubilden sind. Besonders wichtig für die Entwicklung eines Systems zur Unterstützung der Entscheidungsfindung ist die realitätsnahe Abbildung der fachlichen Zusammenhänge. Neben Bewahrung der Gesamtübersicht und Fokussierung auf das Wesentliche, sehen wir die Wahl geeigneter mathematischer Modelle als entscheidend.

Die mathematischen Modelle, welche z.B. in unseren Systemen zur Finanzbedarfsermittlung und zum Vorschlag von Unterhaltsmassnahmen zu Grunde liegen, ermitteln die optimale Lösung zur gestellten Problemstellung unter Berücksichtigung der wesentlichen fachlichen Zusammenhänge. Jegliche Abweichung von der optimalen Lösung führt definitionsgemäss zu Mehraufwänden. Damit stellen die Systeme ein wertvolles Hilfsmittel dar, weil sie die wesentlichen technischen Fragen beantworten. Die Entscheidungsträger können sich somit ihrer eigentlichen Aufgabe d.h. den strategischen Fragen widmen.