Analysis, development and improvement of business models and processes

With reliable business models and processes for effective and efficient results.

The management of built infrastructure systems is a complex task and the decisions made have considerable effects. To be able to make founded decisions, the necessary information (such as those from recent inspections) must be collected and stored. Consequently, the information is used to create timed work programs and intervention plans. In 2012, about 250 million Swiss Francs were used for maintenance of engineering structures and tunnels in Switzerland. The inspections required about 2.5 million Swiss Francs and employed about 80 people. It is clear that because of the co-dependencies small-scale optimizations lead to significant improvements of the resource allocation. An appropriate business model, as well as effective and efficient processes lead to direct benefits and are the linchpin for successful projects.

It is of paramount importance for an effective management of infrastructure facilities that the fundamental structure of the objects and the description of its technical features be accurate. This must also be reflected in the organization‘s aims and objectives. To effectively achieve its objectives, an organisaton must define appropriate, lean and need-based processes. So that each step of an organization‘s process is effectively performed, the roles and need for coordination with other organizations must be clearly defined and appropriate tools integrated in the work-flow. In this partially iterative process, the project environment must also be taken into consideration. Furthermore, attention to the continuity of the system should be paid. The implementation and application of an IT system is a vital task in guaranteeing an efficient performance of the business processes.

For the conceptualization of a system that enables an effective and efficient management of infrastructure facilities, solid know-how, technical experience and a thorough understanding of organizational studies and IT systems and the ability to think conceptually are decisive.

IMC has successfully applied its know-how and experience in numerous projects for different organizations. We strive to continuously build on our experiences so that we are ready to provide technical support on the evaluation, development and improvement of business models and processes, whether it be an instance or a more comprehensive project.

.

General Questions

Have you defined the pertinent goals of asset management for your infrastructure?
Thanks to our comprehensive know-how and solid experiences from projects with different infrastructure operators, such as large and medium-large organizations in Switzerland, Germany and France – as well as partners from different sub-systems such as engineering structures, pavement, tunnels, rail rolling stock and utility lines – IMC knows the technical contexts and the relevant management goals. When defining the objectives, we make sure to adress the project holistically and keep track of what really matters.

Are the processes, roles, interdependencies, organisation and the relevant tools continuously structured? Do they enable the efficient management of your infrastructure?
So that the defined objectives can be reached with minimal effort, the clearly defined processes, roles, required coordination efforts, the project organization structure and local tools needed for each task are required. The experiences from our projects, such as the structuring of a cross-system coordination or the lead on data collection and inspection campaigns have allowed us to elicit Best Practice examples. These enable us to continuously improve, work with state-of-the-art methods and provide better solutions in our projects.

Beurteilung, Entwicklung und Verbesserung von Geschäftsmodellen und -prozessen

Mit fachtreuen Geschäftsmodellen und -prozessen zu effektiven und effizienten Ergebnissen.

Die Verwaltung gebauter Infrastrukturanlagen ist eine komplexe Aufgabe und die zu treffenden Entscheide haben bedeutende Folgen. Um fundierte Entscheide zu treffen, müssen die nötigen Informationen (z.B. im Rahmen von Inspektionen) gesammelt werden, zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten vorliegen und konkretisiert werden (z.B. zu einer Massnahmenplanung per Jahresanfang). Für den Unterhalt der Kunstbauten und Tunnel der Nationalstrassen wurden im Jahr 2012 ca. 250 Mio. CHF aufgewendet. Die Inspektionen der Kunstbauten und Tunnel der Nationalstrassen benötigten pro Jahr ca. 2.5 Mio. CHF und an diesen beteiligen sich ca. 80 Personen. Es ist offensichtlich, dass das Zusammenwirken klar geregelt sein muss und dass bereits geringfügige Optimierungen beachtliche Verbesserungen des Mitteleinsatzes erlauben. Ein geeignetes Geschäftsmodell sowie effektive und effiziente Abläufe, welche einen klaren Nutzen erzeugen sind das A und O für den Projekterfolg.

Für eine effektive Verwaltung der Infrastrukturanlagen, müssen die Gegebenheiten in den Grundsätzen und somit fachlich korrekt abgebildet werden. Dies muss sich in den grundlegenden Zielen wiederspiegeln, welche die Organisation zu erreichen hat. Für eine effiziente Zielerreichung müssen bedarfsgerechte Prozesse gebildet werden. Und damit die einzelnen Prozessschritte umgesetzt werden, müssen wiederrum die Rollen und Schnittstellen klar definiert sein. Abschliessend müssen die Organisation festgelegt und geeignete Werkzeuge eingesetzt werden. Bei diesem teilweise iterativen Prozess muss das Projektumfeld natürlich auch berücksichtigt werden. Weiterhin muss auf die Durchgängigkeit des Systems geachtet werden. Zu guter Letzt stellt natürlich die Einführung und Anwendung des Systems einen der wichtigsten Punkte dar.

Für die Konzeption eines Systems, welches eine effektive und effiziente Verwaltung der Infrastrukturanlagen erlaubt, sind solides Wissen und Erfahrung zu den fachlichen Gegebenheiten und zur Organisationslehre, solide EDV-Kenntnisse und konzeptionelles Denken entscheidend.

Die IMC hat das nötige Wissen und die nötige Erfahrung in mehreren Projekten unterschiedlicher Organisationen erfolgreich angewendet, baut ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrungen stetig aus und kann Sie punktuell oder umfassend bei der Beurteilung, Entwicklung und Verbesserung von Geschäftsmodellen und -prozessen unterstützen.

Generische Fragen

Haben Sie die wesentlichen Ziele zur Verwaltung Ihrer Infrastruktur definiert?
Dank umfassendem Wissen und soliden Erfahrungen aus Projekten mit unterschiedlichen Infrastrukturbetreibern – wie z.B. grosse und mittelgrosse Organisationen aus der Schweiz, Deutschland und Frankreich – sowie aus unterschiedlichen Teilsystemen –  wie z.B. Kunstbauten, Fahrbahn, Tunnel, Gleisanlagen und Werkleitungen – kennt die IMC die fachlichen Zusammenhänge und die zu erreichenden Ziele. Bei der Zieldefinition achten wir darauf stets den Überblick zu bewahren und das Wesentliche nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Sind die Prozesse, Rollen, Schnittstellen, die Organisation sowie die Werkzeuge durchgängig aufgebaut und erlauben diese ein effizientes Arbeiten?
Um die gesteckten Ziele mit möglichst wenig Aufwand zu erreichen, sind klar definierte Prozesse, Rollen, Schnittstellen, eine klar definierte Aufbauorganisation sowie punktuell einzusetzende Werkzeuge erforderlich. Die Erfahrungen aus unseren Projekten, wie z.B. den Aufbau einer teilsystemübergreifenden Koordination oder die Führung von Datenerfassungen / Inspektionskampagnen, sammeln wir und eruieren daraus Best practices, um uns laufend zu verbessern und damit wir die uns anvertrauten Aufgaben noch besser erfüllen können.